A/C Compressor going bad

bidwin

A/C Compressor going bad

Postby bidwin » Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:23 pm

Just learned the A/C compressor in my 2007 Freestyle is going bad. Got a quote to fix that required replacing the condenser with the compressor. Explanation was any shavings or other junk in the old condenser would contaminate the new compressor and perhaps make it fail. When asked why other parts of the A/C system didn't have to be replaced for the same reason I sort of got a hummina-hummina answer. A parts man at a local Ford dealer said he'd never heard that a condenser must be replaced with the compressor. Can anyone out there give me the real skinny about what must, or should, be replaced along with the compressor?
Thanks.

dmckmc

Re: A/C Compressor going bad

Postby dmckmc » Mon Apr 03, 2017 3:05 am

i'll give you my opinion as I am not a mechanic but I have replaced nearly my entire a/c system. I have a 2005 AWD ltd with rear air so this may or may not apply to your car. If the compressor failed and there are small metal bits floating around your system, more pieces probably need to be replaced and the lines/system flushed. Was there any mention of replacing the receiver/drier or expansion valve(s) - rear air has an additional expansion valve. Seems to me these are more commonly replaced during service than the condensor. I have replaced the condensor but it was due to damage. The oem condensor had fairly large tubes that could easily be flushed/cleaned. The after market replacement had a flat/ribbon type tubing system that had tiny openings, I believe it would be difficult to flush this type of condensor of all metal and I would replace it in the event of another compressor failure. One thing you can ask them to do is add a screen filter at the compressor manifold to capture any metal bits still in the system and of course get a long warranty on the work. Finally, all the flushing and extra parts cost money, if I had not done the labor, my repair would have