Passsenger door lock not working as power lock - where to start?

lparsons

Passsenger door lock not working as power lock - where to start?

Post by lparsons » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:53 am

My 05 Freestyle limited has had problems with the passenger door lock for some time now. Originally it worked sporadically and often just shook when it was supposed to lock or unlock (rather than completing the movement up or down on its own). However several months ago it stopped working as a power lock completely. If it is unlocked, it does not lock with the other locks (including at speed). If it is locked, it does not unlock with the other locks (regardless of whether I use the fob or if I am using the switch on the driver's or passenger's door). It does however work just fine as a manual lock - if the door is locked the handle on the door will unlock it fine, and if the door is unlocked I can easily press down the lock nob to lock it.
I've never worked on a lock before. Are these difficult to work on? Are there some parts I should order up right away to try or should I be looking for something out of adjustment? Or is it too complicated to be worth my while? The car has ~170k miles on it if that makes a difference. The other locks - including the hatch - all work as expected. The passenger one though is particularly annoying if I am carrying something out to the car with me and I want to put it in the front passenger seat (as often happens when I have my sons with me).
Thank you!
05 Freestyle Limited AWD - dark red (wife's car)
02 VW Passat W8 - all black (my car)

ds32928

Re: Passsenger door lock not working as power lock - where to start?

Post by ds32928 » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:29 pm